Final reflection

No, I didn’t complete the 19Things, which at times felt like 900Things! I take my hat off to all those who did complete the programme. Some of us here at OXH discussed our experiences and tended to agree that having a new task or two every week was too much; it’s very difficult to find the time for CPD if your library is short staffed or if it’s half term or if you have to take time off for health reasons.
Support was always forthcoming – thank you for that! The instructions sometimes seemed to assume familiarity with a term, e.g. “widget” wasn’t really defined in the context of ProtoPage (I had to look it up in Wikipedia). Also it wasn’t made clear that a start page is the same as a home page (terms interchangeable, according to Phil Bradley’s column in CILIP Update). Choosing a funny name turned out to be something you would be awarded for, rather than just a joke at the beginning of the blog creation process. Three of us didn’t manage to register with our made-up names in spite of following the instructions carefully – what did we do wrong, I wonder?
The thing I enjoyed most was blogging about my Creative Commons photo, a picture of the library of my alma mater, built with a legacy left by a goldminer!

Standard

Leave a comment